Opinons on setting the gain at 5 vs 10 when creating a liquid profile.

• The Profiler Model referred to in this thread is ...
    ☑️ Profiler Stage

Im not that experienced when it comes to creating profiles but i ran a little test and am curious as to what other think may be the best practice when it comes to my two comparisons ive made.

I made two Direct profiles of my AC30 head Top Bost High channel. Running the out into my Suhr reactive load and sending the unfiltered direct tone out to the kemper for the profile.

One i set the gain/volume at 5 and the other profile i set it full out, all other knobs at noon. I then took both profilesn I had made and set up two presets with the same IR and same amp settings. They sound very similar but i definitely notice some small variations. I think i actually prefer the profile i made with the gain set on 5.

I usually run this amp with the gain around the halfway mark. Would it be more accurate to create a profile with the gain set closer to where i usually run the amp live? I did notice that the default definition settings of the full gain profile was a little lower. 1.8 definition on the full gain profile vs 3.8 on the halfway gain profile.

Which do you think would be the more accurate profile between these two?

• New
    • Official Post

Im getting pretty damn good results this way. is it possible to make a direct profile using a radial DI box and using the cabinet to take the load?

using a real cabinet as a load is highly recommended - the DI box in question has to be able to withstand speaker (!) level signals.
    there is a thread about possible DI box choices, I'll link it here

• So am i running the speaker out of the amp to the passive DI with a speaker cable, then the THRU to the cabinet with speaker cable and the DI out to the kemper with a regular cable?

Will this effectively take the load of the amp so i dont blow the amp?

• New
    • Official Post