Posts by grammar

I've just set up a small writing studio and currently looking at adding a Kemper for recording.

My first plan was to buy a small tube amp for writing and just use the Kemper for recording but I'm wary of adding any extra heat as the room is very small. I've been using modellers for 10 years so I'm aware of the limitations when listening studio monitors.

Whats the best way of adding a poweramp and small guitar cab for general jamming? I want to stay away from FRFR

Would a small 1x12 cab and a transparent solid state poweramp give me what I need or am I barking up the wrong tree?

I'm a Fractal user but I'm considering a second Kemper rig for when I play with a particular artist. Mainly to simplify things for the techs so they don't have to learn too much.

Personally at this point I can't tell the difference. I really doubt many people can. It's all much of a muchness. Ease of use often comes first so my Fractal gear is purely for the road. I would never take it to a writing session for example, the workflow just isn't there. Kemper, Helix or pedalboard I would for sure.

Replacing just an amp or simple rig? Get a Kemper. Replacing a complicated rig? get an Axe.

I'm not sure I'd hold my breath on a Kemper 2 (I'll buy one when it happens). They've been selling the Virus Ti2 unchanged for 9 years!!

I've been trying to figure out a transport situation that will fulfil 4 needs. It needs to be;

1- Safe being thrown around in the back of a tour bus.

2- Safe as checked luggage on flights

3- Safe being handled and transported by unknown techs.

4- Fairly easy to transport

So far the head actually seems to the better choice as it will fit in a Peli-style or Microphone case by itself with excellent protection. These seem to be the standard for transporting electrical gear. Lots of padding. The SKB below is within an inch of carry on size for most flights so that helps.

[Blocked Image: http://teele.zenfolio.com/img/s10/v109/p578453871-4.jpg]