Kemper Profiler: "Scratchy" sounds in all high gain rigs

• The Profiler Model referred to in this thread is ...
    ☑️ Profiler Stage

Hi all

I'm new to Kemper Profiler Amps resp. Profiler Stage and starting to try out rigs. It sounds all pretty good and all but with every high gain amp and when doing palm muting on the low strings, there's this scratchy sound. Of course it's coming from my pick, but.. I don't have this "noise" with the same guitar when I'm wired to my ENGL Fireball 100.

Here's a sample, you'll hear immediatly what I mean:

pick issues - git.wav
    Shared with Dropbox
    www.dropbox.com

This happens at least with humbuckers (tried with epiphone les paul and SG).

What I checked/tried but didn't help (too much at least)
    - input LED looks ok
    - used input and "effects" noise gate
    - setting PICK settings very low
    - adding high cut
    - pure cabinet on/off
    - tried many many different rigs from different sources
    - used softer picks (even if I dont have the same issues when playing my analog head)

Does anyone understand what's going on resp. how I could reduce these sounds?

Thanks for every input!

• You have to understand the difference in sounds between what's coming out of an amp cab and what's coming out of a profile. A profile is the mic's interpretation of the sound coming out of a cab. It's the sound you hear on all recordings. An album does not have the actual sound of a cab.

With this being said, a lot of nuances like pick attack and string noise will get lost in a mix since other instruments will play along and on top of each other. There is nothing wrong with that wav file. Start producing your tone alongside other instruments or backing tracks. Guitar tracks rarely sound pristine on their own.

Larry Mar @ Lonegun Studios. Neither one famous yet.

• Well I agree with you regarding recording and the sound mix with other musicians.