Posts by V8guitar

Yes, that is ticket number 323886.
    Nobody expects a completely error-free version,
    but I expect known problems to be fixed, especially if the functionality worked in older versions and especially if the error is reproducible and repeatable.

I have been working in IT for over 30 years, specializing in large databases and trading systems in investment banking. Here, a clear distinction is made between error correction and function expansion. And there is always a maintenance update or bugfix release before new functions are introduced.

So tis Beta 11.0 is a maintenance release i guess.

Having worked myself for 28 years in software development in different industries, there is of course difference in criticality. Error free was the target for Aerospace and so yes prior to new functionality but less important for booking appointments for an Opticians.

I also hear you, just trying to add the reality here of the scale and size of the organisation and criticality of these issues.

The problem is that some bugs are not present in older versions, but have only appeared due to new functions. E.g. in studio use, the KPA USB connection problem means that I have to continue using version 8.7. The error is demonstrably repeatable and is also documented in the internal Rigmanager log. I have reported this situation to the support team several times, but have not yet received a satisfactory response.
    However, Kemper always mixes updates with upgrades, bug fixing and the introduction of new features.
    So anyone (like me) who hopes that errors will be fixed will always be disappointed that although some errors are fixed, and new errors arise. I would prefer a stable version that is as error-free as possible instead of new functions.

You are describing a number of issues here.